Showing posts with label scam alert. Show all posts
Showing posts with label scam alert. Show all posts

26 December 2011

How To Stop Facebook Adult Scam Auto Postings

This adult Facebook scam install an add-on your browser which keeps sending the posts on your Facebook wall automatically. All you have to do is to follow the steps given below to remove that add-on from your browser.


For Google Chrome Users

1. Click on the Tools and then click on the Extensions

2. Remove the “YouTube Premium” extension from there.



For Mozilla Firefox Users

1. Go to the Tools and then to the Add-ons

2. Remove the “YouTube Premium” add-on from the list of Firefox add-ons.

Restart your browser and you are done....

Share it with your friends too avoid this scam causing any trouble to your Facebook profile

21 September 2011

facebook scam | facebook dislike button

When it comes to scams Facebook is the place that certainly sees most of them, we have seen a lot of scams like Osama Bin Laden ones circulating, another where a lady lost thousands for showing some compassion and another one that claims to be able to show you who has been visiting your Facebook profile
.
The latest one going around is about a feature that many Facebook users have wanted for sometime and that’s a Facebook Dislike button which could possibly be loaded with a virus. Scams of all different types have become more frequent on Facebook and because of that the Facebook security team is implementing some pretty good measures to try to prevent the majority of it.

We have seen this one floating around on Facebook and then we read an article over on Facecrooks.com that confirmed it. The scam message says that “Facebook Now Has A Dislike button!” and to enable the feature to click on a link as shown in the screenshot below.
Once you click on it they want you to copy some code from a box and paste it into your browser. Doing this leaves you wide open as it bypasses the Facebook security protocols and you could end up with a virus and if you took part in their ‘survey’ then the data that you entered could put you at risk.

If you have unfortunately already clicked on the link then there are a few things that we would advise you to do, firstly run a virus scan on your computer and eradicate anything that shouldn’t be there including malware. We would urge you to share this information with your friends, family and colleagues to ensure we try and stop the malware from spreading.

Have you seen this circulating already? Let us know how frequently and if you have been caught out by it in the comments section below.

10 May 2011

osama bin laden death

A link which claims to point to a video of the death of Osama bin Laden has been spread virally across Facebook on 2nd may 2011, just hours after the death of the Al Qaeda leader , Osama bin laden.

The messages, posed as updates on Facebook users' walls, claim to point to banned video footage of Osama bin Laden's death


SHOCKING NEW video of OSAMA BIN LADENS DEATH!!
Exclusive BANNED VDEIO footage of Osama Bin Laden being killed!!!


(In the screenshots used throughout this article we have obscured the image as some may find it disturbing).

Clicking on the link takes you to a Facebook page which urges you to like and share the link with your Facebook friends, before you can watch the "shocking" footage


However, sharing the link with others just helps spread it further across the social network, and instead of a shocking video you are instead presented with an all-too-familiar survey which you are told you must complete before you can go any further.



The scammers earn money every time a survey is completed, and that's why they want you to share the link with others.

bcoders is advising users click on any link related to Osama bin Laden's death, not just on Facebook but on other parts of the internet too. Such a big news story always seems to attract the interest of fraudsters and malware authors.

If you want to keep up-to-date on the latest scams, and are a member of Facebook, don't forget to join us on facebook to keep informed about the latest security news.